The Minnesota Lynx are WNBA champions once again.

Minnesota won its fourth title in franchise history Wednesday with an 85-76 victory over the Los Angeles Sparks in the decisive Game 5 of the WNBA Finals at Williams Arena at the University of Minnesota. The win continued the Lynx’s pattern of championships every other year, as they prevailed in 2011, 2013 and 2015 as well.

The victors can thank a balanced scoring effort for the glory, as all five starters scored in double figures, with Sylvia Fowles leading the way with 17 points and a head-turning 20 rebounds. Maya Moore added 18 points and 10 boards, while point guard Lindsay Whalen directed the show with 17 points and eight assists.

According to ESPN Stats & Info, Minnesota joined the Houston Comets as the only WNBA franchises with four championships. It also joined the Golden State Warriors and North Carolina Tar Heels as basketball teams that avenged a 2016 loss in the championship with a 2017 title since the Sparks beat the Lynx in last season’s WNBA Finals.

Los Angeles didn’t go down without a fight even though it trailed 79-67 with less than two minutes remaining. Its pressing defense forced multiple Minnesota turnovers, and a 9-0 run made it 79-76 with 34 seconds left before Moore’s running jumper in the lane sent a wave of relief through the stadium.

Read more (via Bleacher Report)

Write a response … Close responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You might also like